Thinking of Switching From Voluntary Benefits to New York Life

I have been selling voluntary benefits for the past 3 months and have landed 2-3 decent sized accounts. I contracted with Colonial Life because I was in B2B sales and felt that it may be an easier transition into insurance sales, but after going through the enrollments, I feel that I would rather be working with individuals on their financial planning strategies and not so much trying to sell accident and cancer policies. Am I trying to "through in the towel" too soon?? Or, would it be wise to cut ties with Colonial and move on to New York Life, Northwestern Mutual, ect...??

Re: Thinking of Switching From Voluntary Benefits to New York Lif

I have been selling voluntary benefits for the past 3 months and have landed 2-3 decent sized accounts. I contracted with Colonial Life because I was in B2B sales and felt that it may be an easier transition into insurance sales, but after going through the enrollments, I feel that I would rather be working with individuals on their financial planning strategies and not so much trying to sell accident and cancer policies. Am I trying to "through in the towel" too soon?? Or, would it be wise to cut ties with Colonial and move on to New York Life, Northwestern Mutual, ect...??

Is colonial captive? Why not do some individual work and continue to sell group if it's working? Can you continue to pursue the "decent sized" cases? What about picking up people in the group for individual? If you want to continue to pursue group cases as well but be career with a more individual planning focused company, Guardian would be at the top of my list (huge dental network and great with other ancillary offerings: life, LTD, STD, vision, etc.).

New York Life has some good potential as well as they have a strong work site (multi life products) focus.

Northwestern I'd stay away from.