New to Insurance - I Need A Sense Of Direction

Maico89

Hi im new to the wonderful world of insurances and im having problems getting started. I passed my license test, i have my own office and have everything ready to open up an independent Agency. The problem is that i dont have a clue about what to do next. I have bills to pay and im getting kinda frustrated that i just want to go out and get a job with any company and just get salary pay. Anyone know a way to get me started with getting the companies so i can sell insurances for. All this Drama is taking place in Arizona. P.S Damn You Brewer.

Re: New to Insurances Need Sense of Direction

The insurance business can be overwhelming at first. Not sure who recommeded that you begin as an independent. I wouldn't recommend that to an enemy. Who's gonna teach you what to do and how to do it? IMO (which is free so you get what you pay for) anyone entering this business either should go captive with a company or contract through an established agency that has veteran agents that will teach you. You almost have to do that for 6 mos to a year minimum to learn. After that, you can go independent. It will cost you some money in lower commissions and split business, but, you get an education. I've been with a captive company for 7 years and just went independent. I was a manager with them and know the products and marketing strategies pretty darn well. But making the transition from a company that pretty much does it for you and all you have to do is sell is difficult. I don't know where I'd even start if I didn't at least have some idea of the business already. Good Luck.