Door Knocking...

Robert_Brown

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Arkansas
As some of you may know, I received an offer from Edward Jones to be a financial advisor. I have been told that it's a great opportunity, and I am interesting in taking a deeper look at it.

Edward Jones wants their first year financial advisors to door knock, a lot.

My question is, can door knocking be an effective way of gaining leads and building a book of business?

How effective is it compared to cold calling?
What are some pro tips I should know about door knocking?
Should I dress professional or casual?

As an insurance agent, I don't door knock. I won't do it.

If someone knocked on my door that I didn't know, there is no way I would let them in my house, or invite them to come back.

If someone knocked on my door that I didn't know, and told me he was an investment adviser, I would think he had lost his mind. No way am I going to invest with a door to door salesman! Think about it...

This is just my opinion. I doubt many on this board will agree with me.

I understand where you are coming from. So, a door-to-door financial advisor would not appeal to you as someone with credibility.

If not door-to-door, in what way would a financial advisor be able to peak your interest or present himself as a person you should listen to?

If they want you to door knock then go out and effin door knock. Asking these guys what doesn't work and what does work many wouldn't have an idea because they just flat out wouldn't do it. Most won't even pick up a phone and call people, at least rgularily. I'm just being honest and telling you straight.

How can this hurt? "Good evening Mrs. Jones, I'm Stanley Bloom with the local Edward Jones office. You may or may not have heard of us. Here is a flyer we are handing out to the local community."

Oh I see you handle old 401ks?
Oh, good to know. We just moved to the area.
Oh good to know. I hadn't heard from my old broker in a year and I found out he just moved.